• Post category:Company News
  • Reading time:10 mins read

Last month, the High Knowledge GmbH and the Sustainable Digital Infrastructure Alliance (SDIA) announced our Open Data Hub, a resource that's meant to boost transparency, trust, and data availability to help researchers, industry, and society realize a sustainable digital economy. It is essentially our answer to the challenge recognized across the sector: that the lack of reliable data is one of the most foundational issues we face in creating a sustainable ICT ecosystem. It's also a way for us to create a new precedent for regulators and policymakers by helping to facilitate inclusive, data-driven policy-making. We at High Knowledge are delighted to share this announcement and invite you to support the Open Data Hub as a Sponsor, Ambassador or Launch Partner.

From the ambitious European Green Deal strategies to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), the urgency to make sustainability a central pillar of business strategy has never been greater. This fact was only further reinforced earlier this week with the landmark IPCC report, which itself was punctuated by raging wildfires across Southeastern Europe and the recent floods in Western Europe.

Around the world consumers are prioritizingsustainability. Study after study demonstrates that adopting sustainability practices decreases costs while making businesses more competitive, further reinforcing the fact that sustainability is good for people, profit, and the planet.

For customers especially, sustainability is built on trust and openness. From supply chain management to consumer outreach, building trust is critical to brand promotion and can easily undercut efforts to win over new markets given the speed of information flows. Transparency is a significant facilitator of trust, one that not only has the ability to boost perception but also promote innovation . Thus, the value that transparency brings to companies today in demonstrating trustworthiness, helping consumers make informed decisions, and ultimately driving sustainability efforts forward cannot be understated. Yet, it requires another key ingredient: data.

Transparency for the digital economy

Data has been labeled as the oil of the 21st century – a somewhat ironic moniker given that so much of today’s digital ecosystem is still powered by fossil fuels. Or at least that is the standard public narrative, despite the digital sector being the top purchaser of renewable energy. Are data centers, for instance, the energy hogs they are made out to be or actually pioneering the energy transition? 

The answer is paramount, but the dearth of available, trusted, systemic data is one of the greatest challenges to transparency and tracking progress that the digital sector faces – especially in light of the increasing scrutiny it attracts and the subsequent calls by governments and society to decarbonize. Specifically, we lack reliable, real-time data gathered from facilities such as data centers, products such as Internet-connected devices, or any other part of the digital value chain that can be used to assess its environmental impacts or gauge sustainability targets. That challenge is precisely what the Sustainable Digital Infrastructure Alliance (SDIA) – a nonprofit network of more than 65 organizations working to catalyze the transition to a sustainable digital economy, which I joined earlier this year – is working to solve.

To do that, however, we need your help. 

We are in the process of building an Open Data Hub to chart the path toward a sustainable future and help us realize our Roadmap to Sustainable Digital Infrastructure by 2030 . Open data hubs are online portals that offer easily accessible datasets to support transparency, industry-wide innovation, and new technologies and business model development. 

Inspired by and modeled after similar open data hubs used in other industries, such as ENTSO-E, UN Environment Programme’s (UNEP) Climate Action Note, electricityMap and Climate TRACE, the SDIA Open Data Hub will draw on reliable, real-time data and other information shared by our members and partners along with other interested stakeholders to offer aggregate, anonymized, and standardized industry-wide reporting via an intuitive platform that does not reveal business sensitive information while still creating transparency for governments and society. 

The SDIA Open Data Hub intends to capture the full suite of lifecycle metrics outlined in our Roadmap, including emissions, energy consumption, electronic waste, resource consumption, pollution, the embedded carbon of server hardware, and more to deliver, among other things, information. This will not only generate invaluable data such as server/data center idle (SIC/DIC) coefficients and carbon dioxide equivalent (CO2eq) calculations for data center operators, IXP managers, IT hardware providers, fiber- and network operators, consumers, regulators, researchers, and a host of other stakeholders from around the world, but will establish the foundation of our work to create a digital carbon footprint that spans across the entire value chain and continuously assess it.

SDIA Open Data Hub: Maximum benefit at minimal cost

Launching in 2022 as a public beta, there are multiple reasons why the SDIA Open Data Hub will offer value to a variety of stakeholders. As a first step, we will primarily focus on where most of the virtual world meets the physical, such as data centers, but our Open Data Hub is built for all stakeholders operating across the digital value chain. All that is required is your commitment to transparency and sustainability. Some of the benefits of participating in our Open Data Hub include:

  • Voluntary transparency that focuses on aggregate data and protects business-critical data while creating a new precedent for regulators and policymakers.

  • New industry benchmarks drawing on performance and energy efficiency data.

  • Enabling industry-wide research by providing accurate data to researchers who can, in turn, help further develop the sector as a whole.
  • More holistic understanding and use of IT infrastructure to generate new business for the data center that turns a potential threat into an exciting opportunity.

  • Catalyzing innovation via new business models that focus on increasing utilization, delivering cost savings, and therefore increasing efficiency.

  • Accessing new products and services built with and implemented into the Open Data Hub.

We are also developing specific benefits for partners of our Open Data Hub including an official Transparency Certification (similar to other industry standards such as the EPEAT ecolabel), automated compliance tools and reporting dashboards, and support for third-party integrations, such as but certainly not limited to Interact tools from the High Knowledgeteam, and preferential access to the Data Center Marketplace dcOrbis.com.

How to Get Involved: Become a Sponsor or Ambassador

As the list above demonstrates, there are myriad benefits to joining the SDIA Open Data Hub. By becoming a Sponsor of the Data Hub to support it financially or an Ambassador to spread the word, you will automatically become a transparency leader in the market, one that helps to shape its development going forward while developing trust, attracting sustainability-minded customers, and galvanizing data-driven government policy. 

This vision is imperative to realizing our mission to build a sustainable digital economy, but we know it cannot manifest without your support. Help us make this happen by demonstrating that the real value of transparency goes beyond mere economics but truly has the power to change systems. 

Harry Knopf, CEO of High Knowledge, is the first official Ambassador of the Open Data Hub.

High Knowledge GmbH is the specialist and leading company for sustainable, digital infrastructure and climate-neutral data centers. High Knowledge is an approved auditor for the German Government’s “Blue Angel” eco-label, and is significantly committed to a sustainable data center landscape. Among other things, it uses model-based planning methods such as building information modeling (BIM). In addition, High Knowledge is part of the Open Compute Project (OCP), focusing on high performance computing (HPC), which aims to redefine hardware and make it more efficient, flexible, and scalable. ist High Knowledge im Bereich High Performance Computing (HPC) Teil des Open Compute Project (OCP), das darauf abzielt, Hardware neu zu definieren und sie effizienter, flexibler und skalierbarer zu machen.

• Beitrags-Kategorie:Company News
  • Lesedauer:10 min Lesezeit

Letzten Monat haben wir, die High Knowledge GmbH und die Sustainable Digital Infrastructure Alliance (SDIA), unseren Open Data Hub angekündigt. Dieser dient als eine Ressource, die Transparenz, Vertrauen und Datenverfügbarkeit fördern soll, um Forschern, der Industrie und der Gesellschaft zu helfen, eine nachhaltige digitale Wirtschaft zu verwirklichen. Es ist im Wesentlichen unsere Antwort auf die in der gesamten Branche anerkannte Herausforderung: der Mangel an zuverlässigen Daten. Dies ist eines der grundlegendsten Probleme, mit denen wir bei der Schaffung eines nachhaltigen ICT-Ökosystems konfrontiert sind. Zusätzlich können wir mithilfe des Open Data Hubs auch ein neues Musterbeispiel für Regulierungsbehörden und politische Entscheidungsträger schaffen, indem wir eine integrative, datengestützte Gestaltung der Politik erleichtern. Wir von High Knowledge freuen uns, diese Ankündigung zu teilen, und laden Sie ein, den Open Data Hub als Sponsor, Ambassador oder Launch Partner zu unterstützen.

Von den ehrgeizigen europäischen Green-Deal-Strategien bis hin zu den Zielen für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung (SDGs) – die Dringlichkeit, Nachhaltigkeit zu einer zentralen Säule der Unternehmensstrategie zu machen, war noch nie so groß. Diese Tatsache wurde Anfang August durch den bahnbrechenden IPCC-Bericht noch verstärkt, der seinerseits von wütenden Waldbränden in Südosteuropa und den jüngsten Überschwemmungen in Westeuropa bekräftigt wurde.

Überall auf der Welt legen die Verbraucher Wert auf Nachhaltigkeit. Eine Studie nach der anderen zeigt, dass die Implementierung von Nachhaltigkeitsstrategien die Kosten senkt und gleichzeitig die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Unternehmen erhöht, was die Tatsache unterstreicht, dass Nachhaltigkeit gut für die Wirtschaft, uns Menschen und unseren Planeten ist.

Vor allem für die Kunden baut Nachhaltigkeit auf Vertrauen und Offenheit auf. Vom Management der Lieferkette bis hin zur Kundenakquise ist das Schaffen von Vertrauen entscheidend für die Markenförderung und kann angesichts der Geschwindigkeit des Informationsflusses die Bemühungen um die Erschließung neuer Märkte leicht untergraben. Transparenz ist ein wichtiger Faktor für Vertrauen, der nicht nur die Wahrnehmung verbessern, sondern auch Innovationen fördern kann. Transparenz schafft einen unschätzbaren Wert für Unternehmen, wenn es darum geht, Vertrauenswürdigkeit zu demonstrieren, den Verbrauchern zu helfen, fundierte Entscheidungen zu treffen, und letztlich die Bemühungen um Nachhaltigkeit voranzutreiben. Dazu ist jedoch eine weitere wichtige Zutat erforderlich: Daten.

Transparenz für die digitale Wirtschaft

Daten werden als das Öl des 21. Jahrhunderts bezeichnet – eine etwas ironische Bezeichnung, wenn man bedenkt, dass ein Großteil des heutigen digitalen Ökosystems immer noch mit fossilen Brennstoffen betrieben wird. Zumindest ist das die gängige öffentliche Darstellung, obwohl der digitale Sektor der größte Abnehmer erneuerbarer Energien ist. Sind Rechenzentren zum Beispiel die Energiefresser, als die sie dargestellt werden, oder sind sie tatsächlich Vorreiter der Energiewende? 

Die Antwort ist von größter Bedeutung, aber der Mangel an verfügbaren, vertrauenswürdigen, systemischen Daten ist eine der größten Herausforderungen für die Transparenz und die Verfolgung von Fortschritten, mit denen der digitale Sektor konfrontiert ist – vor allem angesichts der zunehmenden Aufmerksamkeit, die er auf sich zieht, und der daraus folgenden Forderungen von Regierungen und der Gesellschaft nach einer Dekarbonisierung. Insbesondere fehlt es an zuverlässigen Echtzeitdaten, die von Einrichtungen wie Rechenzentren, Produkten wie internetfähigen Geräten oder anderen Teilen der digitalen Wertschöpfungskette gesammelt werden, um deren Umweltauswirkungen zu bewerten oder Nachhaltigkeitsziele zu messen. Die Sustainable Digital Infrastructure Alliance e.V. (SDIA) – ein gemeinnütziges Netzwerk von mehr als 65 Organisationen, die sich für den Übergang zu einer nachhaltigen digitalen Wirtschaft einsetzen – arbeitet gemeinsam mit High Knowledge an der Lösung genau dieser Herausforderung.

Dazu brauchen wir jedoch Ihre Hilfe. 

Wir arbeiten daran, einen Open Data Hub aufzubauen, der den Weg in eine nachhaltige Zukunft aufzeigt und uns dabei hilft, unsere Roadmap für eine nachhaltige digitale Infrastruktur bis 2030 umzusetzen. Open Data Hubs sind Online-Portale, die leicht zugängliche Datensätze anbieten, um Transparenz, branchenweite Innovationen sowie die Entwicklung neuer Technologien und Geschäftsmodelle zu fördern. 

Inspiriert von und nach dem Vorbild ähnlicher Open Data Hubs, die in anderen Branchen genutzt werden, wie ENTSO-E, UN Environment Programme’s (UNEP) Climate Action Note, electricityMap und Climate TRACE, wird der SDIA Open Data Hub auf zuverlässige Echtzeitdaten und andere Informationen zurückgreifen, die von unseren Mitgliedern und Partnern sowie anderen interessierten Stakeholdern zur Verfügung gestellt werden, um aggregierte, anonymisierte und standardisierte branchenweite Berichte über eine intuitive Plattform anzubieten, die keine sensiblen Geschäftsinformationen preisgibt und dennoch Transparenz für Regierungen und die Gesellschaft schafft. 

Der SDIA Open Data Hub beabsichtigt, die gesamte Palette der in unserer Roadmap dargelegten Lebenszyklusmetriken zu erfassen, einschließlich Emissionen, Energieverbrauch, Elektronikschrott (WEEE), Ressourcenverbrauch, Schadstoffen, eingebettetem Kohlenstoff von Serverhardware und mehr, um u. a. Informationen zu liefern. Dies wird nicht nur unschätzbare Daten wie Server/Rechenzentrum Leerlauf-Koeffizienten (SIC/DIC) und CO2-Äquivalenzberechnungen (CO2eq) für Rechenzentrumsbetreiber, IXP-Manager, IT-Hardware-Anbieter, Glasfaser- und Netzwerkbetreiber, Verbraucher, Regulierungsbehörden, Forscher und eine Vielzahl anderer Interessengruppen aus der ganzen Welt generieren, sondern auch die Grundlage für unsere Arbeit zur Erstellung eines digitalen CO2-Fußabdrucks bilden, der sich über die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette erstreckt, und diesen kontinuierlich bewerten.

SDIA Open Data Hub: Maximaler Nutzen bei minimalen Kosten

Der SDIA Open Data Hub, der im nächsten Jahr als öffentliche Beta-Version an den Start geht, wird aus mehreren Gründen für eine Vielzahl von Interessengruppen von Nutzen sein. In einem ersten Schritt werden wir uns in erster Linie auf die Bereiche konzentrieren, in denen die virtuelle Welt auf die physische Welt trifft, wie z. B. Rechenzentren, aber unser Open Data Hub ist für alle Interessengruppen gedacht, die in der gesamten digitalen Wertschöpfungskette tätig sind. Alles, was erforderlich ist, ist Ihr Engagement für Transparenz und Nachhaltigkeit. Einige der Vorteile der Teilnahme an unserem Open Data Hub sind:

  • Freiwillige Transparenz, die sich auf aggregierte Daten konzentriert, geschäftskritische Daten schützt und gleichzeitig ein neues Musterbeispiel für Regulierungsbehörden und politische Entscheidungsträger schafft.

  • Neue Branchen-Benchmarks auf der Grundlage von Leistungs- und Energieeffizienzdaten.

  • Ermöglichung einer branchenweiten Forschung durch die Bereitstellung präziser Daten für Forscher, die ihrerseits zur Weiterentwicklung des Sektors insgesamt beitragen können.
  • Ganzheitliches Verständnis und Nutzung der IT-Infrastruktur, um neue Geschäftsmöglichkeiten für das Rechenzentrum zu schaffen, die eine potenzielle Bedrohung in eine spannende Chance verwandeln.

  • Katalysierung von Innovationen durch neue Geschäftsmodelle, die sich auf die Erhöhung der Auslastung, Kosteneinsparungen und damit auf die Steigerung der Effizienz konzentrieren.

  • Zugang zu neuen Produkten und Dienstleistungen, die mit dem Open Data Hub entwickelt und in diesen implementiert wurden.

Wir entwickeln auch besondere Vorteile für Partner unseres Open Data Hub, darunter eine offizielle Transparenz-Zertifizierung (ähnlich wie bei anderen Industriestandards, z. B. dem EPEAT-Umweltzeichen), automatisierte Compliance-Tools und Report-Dashboards sowie Unterstützung für die Integration von Drittanbietern, wie z. B. Interact durch das High Knowledge-Team, einen bevorzugten Zugang zum Data Center Marketplace dcOrbis.com, aber natürlich auch anderen.

Wie man sich beteiligen kann: Sponsor oder Ambassador werden

Wie die obige Liste zeigt, bietet eine Mitgliedschaft im SDIA Open Data Hub unzählige Vorteile. Wenn Sie Sponsor des Data Hub werden, um ihn finanziell zu unterstützen, oder Ambassador, um ihn bekannt zu machen, werden Sie automatisch zu einem Vorreiter für Transparenz auf dem Markt, der dazu beiträgt, die künftige Entwicklung zu gestalten, Vertrauen zu schaffen, auf Nachhaltigkeit bedachte Kunden anzuziehen und eine datengestützte Regierungspolitik zu fördern. 

Diese Vision ist für die Verwirklichung unserer Mission, eine nachhaltige digitale Wirtschaft aufzubauen, unerlässlich, aber wir wissen, dass sie ohne Ihre Unterstützung nicht verwirklicht werden kann. Helfen Sie uns, dies zu erreichen, indem Sie zeigen, dass der wahre Wert von Transparenz über die reine Wirtschaftlichkeit hinausgeht und wirklich die Kraft hat, Systeme zu verändern. 

Harry Knopf, CEO von High Knowledge, ist erster offizieller Ambassador des Open Data Hub.

High Knowledge GmbH ist der Spezialist und führendes Unternehmen für nachhaltige, digitale Infrastrukturen und klimaneutrale Rechenzentren. High Knowledge ist zugelassener Auditor für das Umweltzeichen „Blauer Engel“ der Bundesregierung und engagiert sich maßgeblich für eine nachhaltige Rechenzentrumslandschaft. Hierfür setzt es unter anderem auf Modell-basierende Planungsmethoden wie Building Information Modeling (BIM). Darüber hinaus, ist High Knowledge im Bereich High Performance Computing (HPC) Teil des Open Compute Project (OCP), das darauf abzielt, Hardware neu zu definieren und sie effizienter, flexibler und skalierbarer zu machen.